The African Regional Labour Administration Centre (ARLAC) was conceived in 1974, as   a project of the ILO and UNDP for the development of Labour Administration (defined as public administration activities in the field of national labour policy) in member countries. A “fixed address” was eventually provided for the Centre in Nairobi Kenya, in 1975; but was suspended in late 1976 due to UNDP liquidity crisis. It was re-established in 1978 with renewed UNDP funding and substantial ILO, EEC and donor-country input. Membership of the Centre is drawn from English-speaking countries. These member-states have formally ratified the ARLAC Agreement which binds them to the pursuit of the Centre’s objectives and to the support of its operations.

The specific general objectives of the Centre, as provided for in article 2 of the ARLAC Agreement include the following:

  • The provision of training for officials  at all levels of labour administration system.
  • The provision of consultancy and advisory services directed towards strengthening labour administration in member countries
  • The undertaking of studies and research in all aspects of labour administration
  • The provision of information services for the benefits of member countries
  • Production and publishing of training materials



Nineteen countries have ratified the ARLAC agreement and these are:

  • Botswana
  • Egypt
  • Ethiopia
  • Ghana
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Malawi
  • Mauritius
  • Namibia
  • Nigeria
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • Sudan
  • Swaziland
  • Uganda
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Contact Form

Name: *


Physical Address: 16km Harare/Bulawayo Road, (Former Salisbury Motel),


Tel:  +263 4 2928116/7, 210191-5
Cell: +263 712 616835

Fax:  +263 4 793287          
E-mail Address:


Be the first to know about what is going on at ARLAC